Professors Kearns and Sandvik Named APS Fellows

November 27, 2007

Professors Edward Kearns and Anders Sandvik were recently honored as Fellows of the American Physical Society. Election to Fellowship in APS is limited to no more than one-half of one percent of the membership, and is recognition for outstanding contributions to physics.

The citation on Professor Kearns’ Fellowship Certificate will read: “For contributions in neutrino physics and particle astrophysics, particularly using the Super-Kamiokande experiment to reveal atmospheric neutrino oscillations and set stringent limits on proton decay.”

The citation on Professor Sandvik’s Fellowship Certificate will read: “For contributions to the development of quantum Monte Carlo methods and their applications to problems in quantum magnetism.”
Click here for a list of recently elected APS Fellows.