Professor Stanley wins 2008 APS Lilienfeld Prize

October 03, 2007

Professor Gene Stanley is this year’s recipient of the Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize from the American Physical Society. The prize recognizes a most outstanding contribution to physics. The prize consists of $10,000, donated to BU, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, plus expenses for the three lectures by the recipient given at an APS meeting, a research university, and a predominantly undergraduate institution. Professor Stanley won the award for his research in understanding the 64 anomalies of liquid water in a coherent “physical” fashion via the new concept of a liquid-liquid (as opposed to a liquid-gas) critical point. This work was performed by Professor Stanley and his colleagues, visitors and, most importantly, graduate students in the Physics Department at Boston University.