Boston University Physics News Archive: 2020

Physics Undergrad Sal Pace selected as first BU Churchill Scholar new
February 10, 2020:

Physics Senior, Salvatore Pace, is the first BU student to receive a Churchill Scholarship, an honor comparable to a Rhodes or a Mitchell scholarship. Sal works with professors Campbell and Laumann to research theoretical physics. By the end of junior year, he was the lead author on two papers cowritten with Professor Campbell. Congratulations Sal!

To learn more, please read the feature on BU Today.



Kevin Smith's group research highlighted in Journal of Chemical Physics and AIP new
February 05, 2020:

Physics Professor Kevin Smith and his group’s work were recently highlighted in the Journal of Chemical Physics. This work, focused on understanding the effects of water on oxide catalyst surfaces, could help scientists understand how water could change electronic and surface structures. To learn more about the groups work, please visit their group site.

Wanzheng Hu Receives NSF Career Award
January 22, 2020:

Wanzheng Hu, an assistant professor, has just received a five year, $630,000 Faculty Early Career Development award from the National Science Foundation. The goal of the award is to advance our knowledge on the relation between crystal structure and high-temperature superconductivity, and to identify the most efficient knob to control the physical properties of iron-based superconductors. This project also includes broad education and outreach programs for female graduate students in physics, local female high school students, and K-12 students. For more info on her research, please visit her lab website

Roscoe Giles named AAAS Fellow
January 21, 2020:

Physics affiliate Roscoe Giles was recently elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in part for his leadership and work in advancing diversity and inclusion in the sciences. In addition to being a professor, he is the board chair of the Associated Universities, Inc.

To learn more about his research and advocacy, visit BU Research.